Champions for Behavioral Health

Every year, we recognize individuals who have demonstrated their commitment to behavioral health as citizens, professionals, legislators, and more.

Since 2015, we have presented awards in four categories: Citizen of the Year, Professional of the Year, Legislator of the Year, and President's Award.

View the Awards Ceremony


Citizens of the Year

Todd Duncan, Chief Deputy, Lancaster County Sheriff's Office

Nebraska Educational Television


Professionals of the Year

Margaret (Peg) Reit, RTC Administrator, Boys Town Behavioral Health

Marilyn Rhoten, Vice President, CHI Health Behavioral Services


Legislator of the Year

Senator Lynne Walz


President's Award

Barb Hoff


Without people like these, NABHO would be unable to accomplish its mission to ensure that quality behavioral health services are accessible to everyone in our state.

If you would like to nominate an individual or entity for an award in any of the above category, please let us know! You can email your thoughts to our Executive Director or complete a nomination form by following the links below:

Nomination Form: Citizen of the Year

Nomination Form: Professional of the Year

Nomination Form: Legislator of the Year


Past Awards

Prior to 2014, NABHO presented the following awards:

Outstanding Citizen of the Year
Howard Halpern "Chaos" Award
Craig Cooperrider "Professional" Award
SA Professional of the Year

Click here for a summary of past award recipients.